Avoca Council members sworn in to new four-year terms at reorganization meeting

By Jimmy Fisher - [email protected]


    AVOCA — Old faces stayed in the same places as four current council members were sworn in by Judge Fred Pierantoni to begin their new terms at the council’s reorganization meeting on Monday.

    Gary Halagarda, Joe Satkowski Jr. and Mike Fuller were all re-elected to four-year terms while Jim Emlaw was elected to his first four-year term.

    Emlaw was voted onto the council last August after the previous council president, Joe Satkowski Sr., passed away in June, leaving an open seat on the council.

    John Boone, who was voted the council president in July, was elected to stay on as president while Frank Marriggi was elected to remain vice president after he filled in that position when Boone was named president.

    Attorney Charles McCormick was re-appointed as the borough solicitor, Kelly O’Brien was re-appointed as borough secretary, David Homeschek was re-appointed as chief of police and Jerry Kudajeski was re-appointed as sergeant of police.

    Also during the meeting, Mayor Robert Mullen swore in new full-time police officer Jim Halford, who the council elected to hire at their December meeting.

    During the borough council’s regular monthly meeting, members approved:

    • The motion to pay Site Services Group $6,200 for a grinder pump installation at 103 Jason St.

    • The motion to adopt the North East Land Bank Ordinance and contribute a $250 fee, making Avoca Borough an official member of the North East Land Bank Authority.

    The next Avoca Borough Council meeting will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 11 at the municipal building, 752 Main St.

    By Jimmy Fisher

    [email protected]

    Reach Jimmy Fisher at 570-704-3972 or on Twitter @SD_JimmyFisher

    Reach Jimmy Fisher at 570-704-3972 or on Twitter @SD_JimmyFisher

    comments powered by Disqus