Local Chatter: Wyoming Area alum Paul Finn graduates from Temple University as doctor of chemistry


Finn graduates from Temple University

PHILADELPHIA — Paul Finn, a 2002 graduate of Wyoming Area High School, recently graduated from the Temple University Doctor of Chemistry program.

He previously earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and biology in 2007 from Temple University.

Finn will begin work as a post doctoral research fellow at California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California under the guidance of Peter Dervan, Ph.D.

Finn is married to Shalaka Dewan, Ph.D.

Kozack inducted to honor society

WILKES-BARRE — Jacob Kozak, of Pittston, a history and secondary education major at King’s College, was recently inducted into the Tau Pi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society for education.

To be a candidate for induction, a student must have at least a 3.4 grade-point average, a commitment to education as a career and “a professional attitude which assures the members steady growth in the field of education.”

Kozak is a member of the King’s College History Society, a history club at King’s. He is also a member of Phi Alpha Theta History Society. Kozak is a consistent dean’s list student.

Happy birthday wishes

Kaitlyn Talipan, of Pittston Township, celebrated her sixth birthday on Friday, Nov. 27. She has three brothers, Kevin, Justin and Kevin.

Diane Musto Ardoline, of Pittston, is celebrated her birthday, Sunday, Nov. 29.

Liz Guarilia, of Duryea, celebrated her birthday on Friday, Dec. 4.

Frankie Naugle, of Pittston, is celebrating his birthday on Pearl Harbor Day, Monday, Dec. 7.

Angela Rose Maher, of Forest Hills, New York, daughter of the former Noreen Musto, of Pittston Township, will celebrate her birthday on Wednesday, Dec. 9.

Jim Ardoline, of Pittston, also known as Mr. Mt. Carmel, celebrated his birthday on Friday, Dec. 11.

Joey Martin, of Pittston, celebrates his birthday Sunday, Dec. 13.

Birth announcements

Kimberly and Donald Keating Jr., of Pittston, gave birth to a girl on Sunday, Oct. 27

Valerie Shrey and Zachary Gramps Sr., of West Wyoming, gave birth to a girl on Tuesday, Oct. 29.

Alissa Derby and Aaron Adams, of Wyoming, gave birth to a girl on Monday, Nov. 2.

Julie and Kareem Dowling, of Pittston, gave birth to a girl on Monday, Nov. 2.

Alyssa and Ian Gilmartin, of Old Forge, gave birth to a girl on Thursday, Nov. 5.

Kristen and James Wilce Jr., of Old Forge, gave birth to twins, a boy and a girl, on Monday, Nov. 9.

Sandra Sweeney and Bryan Damico, of Pittston, gave birth to a boy on Friday, Nov. 13.

Michelle Rushock and Derrick Klinefelter, of Exeter, gave birth to a girl on Sunday, Nov. 15.

Kristen and Eric Adams, of Pittston, gave birth to a boy on Friday, Nov. 20.

comments powered by Disqus