Senior Citizens’ News: Book Club meets June 6 in Falls


Casino trips scheduled

PITTSTON — Reservations are now being taken for the following trips organized by the Pittston Active Adult Center:

Tioga Downs Racing & Casino — Thursday, June 16

Mount Airy Casino — Monday, July 18

Sands Casino — Thursday, Aug. 18

Hollywood Casino — Thursday, Sept. 1

Ehrhardt’s Waterfront Resort Day Trip — Thursday, Oct. 6

Sands Casino — Thursday, Nov. 3

For more information, contact Connie Kokinda at the center.

Line dancing classes with Sue are held at 10 a.m. Mondays. Exercise classes with Catherine and Ruth are held at 9 a.m. Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Sandi offers chair exercise classes at 11 a.m. on Tuesdays and 9 a.m. on Thursdays. There is no charge for these classes.

Ceramic Class with Ann is held from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Wednesdays while Bingo with Ron and Amy is held from 9:30 to 11:30 a.m. on Tuesday and Friday mornings and also from 1 to 3 p.m. Wednesday afternoons.

Shuffleboard matches are held at 10 a.m. Wednesday mornings where the men challenge the women.

Craft class with Faye and Rosanne is held at 10 a.m. on Thursday mornings, as is Wii bowling with John.

The center offers ballroom dance lessons with Joseph Kull, instructor at 2 p.m. on Thursdays. A small fee is charged.


Book Club meets June 6

EXETER TWP. — Book Club at the Falls Active Adult Center will meet to discuss “Go Set a Watchman” by Harper Lee on Monday, June 6.

A staff member from Rep. Karen Boback’s office will be on hand from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, June 15 to answer any state-related questions or concerns.

A special Father’s Day Lunch and Recognition will be held Friday, June 17.

Farmers market vouchers will be available from 10 a.m. to noon Wednesday, June 22.

Lunch & Learn will be held at 12:15 p.m. Friday, June 24 with Jessica Budzak from Wyoming Valley Alcohol and Drug Services as she gives an overview of drug use, including prescription drugs for seniors.

George Rittenhouse will hold a special concert from 10:45 to 11:45 a.m. Tuesday, June 28.

Joan Krispin, LPN, admissions director from the Meadows will be on hand from 12:30 to 1 p.m. Thursday, June 30 to check blood pressures. Bingo will begin afterwards at 1 p.m.


Club meeting June 7

EXETER — Members of the Cosmopolitan Senior Citizens Club, a Project HEAD Club, will meet at 1 p.m. in St. Anthony’s Parish Center on Tuesday, June 7.

Host/hostesses are Bernardine Bednar, Irene Kovaleski, John Kovaleski, and Lucy Poccescki.

A casino trip is scheduled to Sands Casino on Thursday, June 16. Pickups are in Exeter and Pittston. It is not a requirement to be a club member to join a trip.

For more information, call Johanna at 570-655-2720.
comments powered by Disqus